Preventing Disease

Vaccine Innovation Conference

The Vaccine Innovation Conference was held May 26, 2015 in Toronto, hosted by the Vaccine Industry Committee. The conference included academic, industry and government presenters that delivered  improved knowledge exchange and awareness of Canadian vaccine innovations and accomplishments to support public and private investment for vaccine R&D. Distinguished keynote speakers included Dr. Lorne Babiuk, University of Alberta, Dr. Greg Poland, Mayo Clinic, and Dr. Rino Rappuoli, GSK together with many of Canada’s top vaccine researchers. Vaccine research and development in Canada, bacterial vaccines, viral vaccines, formulations, delivery and bioprocessing were topics to identify strengths and gaps in the Canadian vaccine landscape.
Check out the 2015 conference program here.

Presentations from 2015 Conference

Strengths and Gaps in the Canadian Vaccine Landscape: a biotech perspective 
Nathalie Charland, PhD Medicago
Development of RSV Vaccines
Ann-Muriel Steff, PhD GSK

Development of Advanced Adjuvants and Immune Modulators
R.E.W (Bob) Hancock, University of British Columbia

Canadian Contribution to Vaccine Adjuvant R&D 
David Burt, GSK

Emerging of the first novel Canadian adjuvant and its potential 
Denis Leclerc, Folia Biotech

Formulations, Delivery and Bioprocessing
Jim Richards, NRC

Vaccination: Canada’s leadership over the last century
Lorne A. Babiuk, University of Alberta

Hepatitis C Vaccines
Michael Houghton, University of Alberta

Can we eliminate important bacterial pathogens with protein-based vaccines?
Dr. Tony Schryvers, University of Calgary

National Immunization Poster Contest

Immunize Canada announced the winners of the National Immunization Poster Contest at this year’s Canadian Immunization Conference in Ottawa.  This year’s competition had over 1,400 entries from Grade 6 students across Canada. BIOTECanada is pleased to support this program and provide prizes for the winning entries.

From left to right: Dr. Shelly McNeil (Vice-Chair, Immunize Canada), Lucas Johnson(National Poster Winner), Andrew Casey (President and CEO BIOTECanada), and Dr. Bonnie Henry (Past Chair, Immunize Canada).

Poster by National Winner

Lucas Johnson (London, Ontario)

Poster by National Runner-up

Sophie-Charlotte Verbeke (Calgary, Alberta)

Read BIOTECanada’s vaccine white paper series:

Building on the Legacy of Vaccines in Canada: Value, Opportunities, and Challenges